Auto Insurance Requirements In North Dakota
North Dakota Auto Insurance
According to the North Dakota state law, all motorists applying for vehicle registration are required to have valid vehicle liability insurance. This insurance helps cover the costs of damages or injuries you may have inflicted on others if you are responsible for an accident. You must carry evidence of insurance in your vehicle at all times, and provide it to law enforcement and others involved in an accident with you upon request. While this is the minimum amount as required by law, drivers are strongly urged to consider higher limits. It’s also important to note that, while North Dakota law does not require you to have collision and comprehensive coverages, you may have to purchase both as part of your car’s finance or lease agreement.
Car Insurance Policy Requirements in the state of North Dakota
North Dakota law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
- $25,000 per person /$50,000 per accident bodily injury liability
- $25,000 per accident property damage liability
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident uninsured/uninsured motorist coverage
- $30,000 per person Basic no-fault
Penalties and Violations
If you are caught driving without insurance in North Dakota, it is considered a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by a mandatory fine of at least $150. Additionally, if you are involved in an accident, the state will assess 14 points against your driver’s license, resulting in a suspension of your license.
Choosing the insurance that’s actually right for you may seem overwhelming. It’s important to make sure you’re adhering to the law in whatever state you live. Don’t go it alone — have one of our friendly, knowledgeable agents help you cut through the nonsense, and get you the security you need while you’re out on the road. Getting the right insurance is just a few steps away.