Auto Insurance Requirements In The State of Arkansas
Arkansas Car Insurance
Under Arkansas state law, all drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. This insurance helps cover the costs of damages or injuries you may have inflicted on others if you are responsible for an accident. If your car is being leased or financed, your financier may require you to buy additional collision and comprehensive coverage, depending on your financing agreement.
Car Insurance Requirements
Liability coverage must include the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
- $50,000 total for bodily injury or death per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage.
Liability insurance will only cover the injuries and damages that you have caused others in the event you are deemed responsible for an accident, after you pay the deductible (the amount of money you are responsible for before the insurer picks up the tab). Liability insurance does not cover you for any personal injuries or property damages. If you would like to ensure you are protected as well, or you would like to be insured for more money to cover liability expenses, you may want to consider comprehensive coverage.
Arkansas Automobile Assigned Risk Plan
If you cannot obtain auto liability insurance through the voluntary market, you may have your agent apply for coverage for you through the Assigned Risk Plan. Arkansas law requires insurance companies to give a discount on auto premiums to insureds over 55 years of age who have completed a motor vehicle accident prevention course approved by the Office of Motor Vehicles.
For more information, visit the government website at: www.insurance.arkansas.gov or call (501) 371-2640; 1-800-852-5494
Choosing the insurance that’s actually right for you may seem overwhelming. Don’t go it alone — have one of our friendly, knowledgeable agents help you cut through the nonsense, and get you the security you need while you’re out on the road. Just fill out the form to get started!