Auto Insurance Requirements In Nebraska
Nebraska Auto Insurance
According to the Nebraska state law, all motorists applying for vehicle registration in Nebraska are required to have valid vehicle liability insurance. This insurance helps cover the costs of damages or injuries you may have inflicted on others if you are responsible for an accident. You must carry evidence of insurance in your vehicle at all times, and provide it to law enforcement and others involved in an accident with you upon request. While this is the minimum amount as required by law, drivers are strongly urged to consider higher limits. It’s also important to note that, while Nebraska law does not require you to have collision and comprehensive coverages, you may have to purchase both as part of your car’s finance or lease agreement.
Car Insurance Policy Requirements in the Nebraska
Nebraska law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are hurt.
- $25,000 for property damage.
Penalties and Violations
If you are caught driving without insurance in Nebraska, It is considered a criminal act. This means that in addition to fines of up to $1000, you could face jail time of up to 6 months. You may also have your license and/or registration suspended.
Choosing the insurance that’s actually right for you may seem overwhelming. It’s important to make sure you’re adhering to the law in whatever state you live. Don’t go it alone — have one of our friendly, knowledgeable agents help you cut through the nonsense, and get you the security you need while you’re out on the road. Getting the right insurance is just a few steps away.