Get matched with affordable auto insurance.

Auto Insurance Requirements In Massachusetts

Massachusetts Auto Insurance 

According to the Massachusetts state law, all motorists applying for vehicle registration in Massachusetts are required to have valid vehicle liability insurance.

This insurance helps cover the costs of damages or injuries you may have inflicted on others if you are responsible for an accident.  While this is the minimum amount as required by law, drivers are strongly urged to consider higher limits. It’s also important to note that, while Massachusetts law does not require you to have collision and comprehensive coverages, you may have to purchase both as part of your car’s finance or lease agreement.

Car Insurance Policy Requirements in the Massachusetts

Massachussettes law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:

  • Bodily Injury to Others:
    • $20,000 per person.
    • $40,000 per accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP):
    • $8,000 per person in an accident.
  • Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Driver:
    • $20,000 per person.
    • $40,000 per accident.
  • Damage to Someone Else’s Property: $5,000 per accident.

Penalties and Violations

If you are caught driving without insurance in Massachusetts, you may be fined $500, be sentenced to one year in jail and have your license suspended if convicted of driving without insurance.

Choosing the insurance that’s actually right for you may seem overwhelming.  It’s important to make sure you’re adhering to the law in whatever state you live.  Don’t go it alone — have one of our friendly, knowledgeable agents help you cut through the nonsense, and get you the security you need while you’re out on the road.  Just fill out this quick form to get started!